Journal of Chan Buddhism

The Journal of Chan Buddhism: East Asian and Global Perspectives is hosted by the Buddhist Studies Forum at the University of British Columbia, funded by the Sixth Patriarch Temple (Liuzu si 六祖寺), and facilitated by FROGBEAR.

This peer-reviewed journal is the first of its kind in English to specifically present academic research about Chinese Chan, Korean Seon, Vietnamese Thìên, and Japanese Zen Buddhism. Journal of Chan Buddhism is an interdisciplinary or cross-disciplinary journal and accept submissions from all academic disciplines related to the study of Chan/Sŏn/Zen Buddhism, including, but not limited to: the history of religions, literary studies, Dunhuang Chan studies, Tibetan and Tangut language Chan studies, doctrinal studies, art historical perspectives, institutional history, anthropological research, and comparative, philosophical studies. The journal also offer book reviews and translations into English of innovative research articles by eminent scholars in East Asia. Chan Studies has separate area editors (e.g., Chan, Seon, Zen) to facilitate broad but still multifaceted coverage of Chinese Chan Studies, Korean Seon Studies, Vietnamese Thìên Studies, and Japanese Zen Studies.

Visit this link for more information: Click here to see the JCB style sheet.


The editorial team consists of:

  • Chen Jinhua (UBC: Editor-in-Chief)
  • George Keyworth (University of Saskatchewan: Regional Editor for China and Korea)
  • Steffen Döll (University of Hamburg: Regional Editor for Japan)

The Advisory Committee consists of twelve senior scholars in the field:

  • Wendi Adamek (University of Calgary)
  • T.H. Barrett (Emeritus Professor, SOAS)
  • William Bodiford (UCLA)
  • Robert Buswell (UCLA)
  • Bernard Faure (Columbia University)
  • T. Griffith Foulk (Sarah Lawrence College)
  • Steven Heine (Florida International University)
  • Ann Heirman (Ghent University)
  • Jia Jinhua (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
  • Robert Sharf (UC Berkeley)
  • Shih Heng-Ching
  • Yu Chün-Fang (Professor Emerita Columbia University)

The Editorial Board consists of twenty-one scholars in the field:

  • Christoph Anderl (Ghent University)
  • Susan Andrews (Mount Allison University)
  • James Benn (McMaster University)
  • Marcus Bingenheimer (Temple University)
  • Ben Brose (University of Michigan)
  • Paul Copp (University of Chicago)
  • Gong Jun (Sun Yat-sen University)
  • Amanda Goodman (University of Toronto)
  • Eric Greene (Yale University)
  • Natasha Heller (University of Virginia)
  • Kim Youn-mi (Ewha Womens University, Seoul)
  • Lai Rongdao (McGill University)
  • Lin Pei-ying (Fu-jen University)
  • Richard D. McBride II (BYU)
  • Elizabeth Morrison (Middlebury College)
  • Michaela Mross (Stanford University)
  • Mark Nathan (University of Buffalo)
  • James Robson (Harvard University)
  • Kirill Solonin (Renmin University of China)
  • Teng Wei-jen (DILA)
  • Wu Jiang (University of Arizona)


List of issues: